Declaration of Minor Form (Workflow) - Updated 9.20.2022 Header Image

Declaration of Minor Form

How to Declare or Change your minor:

  1. Meet with the Director of Interdisciplinary Studies to discuss interests and options.
  2. Meet with Academic Advising to review Academic Plan and Declaration process.
  3. Complete this Declaration of Minor Form.
  4. Attend group meetings with Minor Area Heads during Registration Advising periods

You should complete this Declaration of Minor form during registration advising for either the first or second semester of the sophomore year. Under limited circumstances, you may begin a minor in the first semester of your junior year. 

If you are on track in your major with no transfer credits, you can download the typical Academic Plan for your chosen major/minor combination at the bottom if each minor page found on the Otis website: www.otis.edu/minors.

If you need a customized academic plan because of transfer credits, honors classes, or a double minor, contact Academic Advising advising@otis.edu.


Student Information

Your Name:*
Make sure to check this email is correct, otherwise this request cannot be completed.

Academic Advisor Emails:

Select Academic Advisor:*

Minor Declaration

Select an action from the list below:*
Are you declaring a second minor?*

Minor Area Head Emails:

  1. ACT: Community Arts Engagement Minor > Michele Jaquis: mjaquis@otis.edu 
  2. ACT: Teacher Credential Preparation Minor > Michele Jaquis: mjaquis@otis.edu
  3. Advertising Design Minor >Tina Miyakawa: tmiyakawa@otis.edu 
  4. Art History Minor > Marlena Donohue: mdonohue@otis.edu 
  5. Book Arts Minor > Rebecca Chamlee: rchamlee@otis.edu 
  6. Contemporary Clay Minor > Joan Takayama-Ogawa: takayama@otis.edu
  7. Creative Writing Minor > Maggie Light: mlight@otis.edu 
  8. Digital Media Minor > Badly Licked Bear: bbear@otis.edu 
  9. Entrepreneurship Minor  > F. Miguel Valenti: fvalenti@otis.edu 
  10. Graphic Design Minor > Tina Miyakawa: tmiyakawa@otis.edu 
  11. Illustration Minor > Allen Brewer: abrewer@otis.edu 
  12. Painting Minor > Lindsay August-Salazar: lsalazar@otis.edu
  13. Photography Minor > Lindsay August-Salazar: lsalazar@otis.edu
  14. Printmaking Minor > Rebecca Chamlee: rchamlee@otis.edu 
  15. Product Design Minor > Jonathan Fidler: jfidler@otis.edu 
  16. Sculpture/New Genres Minor > Lindsay August-Salazar: lsalazar@otis.edu
  17. Sustainability Minor > Claudia Hernandez-Romero: cromero@otis.edu
Make sure to check this email is correct, otherwise this request cannot be completed.
Make sure to check this email is correct, otherwise this request cannot be completed.

Statement of Purpose and Educational Goals

Use your mouse or finger to draw your signature above

Approval Step 1 - Academic Advising

Upload student's Degree Works Academic Plan:*
No File Chosen
File uploads may not work on some mobile devices.
Approve? (Academic Advising)*
Does this plan require summer classes or a 5th year?*

Approval Step 2 - Student Financial Services

The financial implications of taking summer classes and/or staying a fifth year to complete this major / minor combination have been fully explained to this student.

Date met with student:*

Approval Step 3 - Interdisciplinary Studies Director

First Point of Inquiry:*
First date met with student:*
How many times did you meet with student before this form was completed:*
How did you meet with student before this form was completed: *
Do you approve? (INTR Director)*
Upload any additional attachments. (Multiple files must be combined into a single file.)
No File Chosen
File uploads may not work on some mobile devices.

Approval Step 4 - Minor Area Head

Do you approve? (Minor Area Head)*

Approval Step 5 - Second Minor Area Head

Do you approve? (2nd Minor Area Head)*

Registration Approval + Banner Entry

Do you approve? (Registration)*
Date Entered Updated Degree Requirements Into Banner*